To provide you with the best experience on this website, cookies are used. By using the site it's assumed that you're happy with our use of cookies. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. More info on cookies.
Allow cookies

East Lancashire Railway

Type: Steam Railway

Bolton Street Station
Bolton Street
Bury
Lancashire
BL9 0EY

Tel: 0161 764 7790

Add East Lancashire Railway to your Itinerary

East Lancashire Railway

The East Lancashire Railway is a mainly steam hauled service between Heywood, Bury, Ramsbottom and Rawtenstall. This popular steam railway offers a great day out for all of the family and hosts a wide variety of events and attractions to suit all ages and interests from railway enthusiasts to a couple looking for a romantic meal with a difference.

Break your journey at any of the stations to visit the characterful towns and villages of Lancashire, shop at the famous Bury market or sample Ramsbottoms selection of cafes and bars.

The railways events include regular visits from Thomas the Tank Engine, Halloween Ghost Trains and the incredibly popular Santa Specials which are a festive tradition for many in the area.

PLUS KIDS GO FREE THIS SPRING.

The Kids Go Free voucher entitles one child to free travel if accompanied by one full fare paying adult (full line return only). Simply download the voucher and start exploring. Every Stop is a Start…!

Similar to this

East Lancashire Railway, Rossendale

Saturday, 7th March 2015 - Monday, 9th March 2015

Spring Diesel Gala
more info

Sunday, 15th March 2015 - Sunday, 15th March 2015

Rail Ale Trail: For the Love of Mum
more info

Saturday, 21st March 2015 - Sunday, 22nd March 2015

Residents Weekend
more info

Saturday, 21st March 2015 - Sunday, 21st June 2015

East Lancashire Railway's Red Rose Diner
more info

Saturday, 28th March 2015 - Saturday, 28th March 2015

Wednesday, 8th April 2015 - Wednesday, 8th April 2015

Saturday, 11th April 2015 - Saturday, 11th April 2015

Wednesday, 22nd April 2015 - Wednesday, 22nd April 2015

Saturday, 25th April 2015 - Saturday, 25th April 2015

Wednesday, 6th May 2015 - Wednesday, 6th May 2015

Saturday, 9th May 2015 - Saturday, 9th May 2015

Wednesday, 20th May 2015 - Wednesday, 20th May 2015

Saturday, 23rd May 2015 - Saturday, 23rd May 2015

Wednesday, 10th June 2015 - Wednesday, 10th June 2015

Saturday, 13th June 2015 - Saturday, 13th June 2015

Wednesday, 24th June 2015 - Wednesday, 24th June 2015

Saturday, 27th June 2015 - Saturday, 27th June 2015

Steam Train Photography Courses
more info

Saturday, 28th March 2015 - Saturday, 28th March 2015

Saturday, 16th May 2015 - Saturday, 16th May 2015

Saturday, 18th July 2015 - Saturday, 18th July 2015

Saturday, 15th August 2015 - Saturday, 15th August 2015

Saturday, 19th September 2015 - Saturday, 19th September 2015

Rail Ale Trail: Ramsbottom & Summerseat
more info

Sunday, 5th April 2015 - Sunday, 5th April 2015

Classic Bike Rally
more info

Monday, 6th April 2015 - Monday, 6th April 2015

Easter Bonnet Day
more info

Wednesday, 8th April 2015 - Wednesday, 8th April 2015

Explorer Day With Paddington BearTM
more info

Saturday, 11th April 2015 - Saturday, 11th April 2015

Rail Ale Trail: Put a Spring in Your Step
more info

Saturday, 25th April 2015 - Saturday, 25th April 2015

Rail Ale Trail: A Toast to St. George
more info

Saturday, 2nd May 2015 - Monday, 4th May 2015

Day Out With Thomas TM
more info

Saturday, 23rd May 2015 - Monday, 25th May 2015

1940s Weekend
more info

Sunday, 24th May 2015 - Sunday, 24th May 2015

Rail Ale Trail: Spivs, Skirmishes and Spitfire Ale
more info

Saturday, 13th June 2015 - Saturday, 13th June 2015

Rail Ale Trail: Walking in Sunshine
more info

Saturday, 20th June 2015 - Sunday, 21st June 2015

Family Fun Weekend with appearances from Peppa Pig and George
more info

Saturday, 20th June 2015 - Sunday, 21st June 2015

Rail Ale Trail: Cheers to Dad
more info

Friday, 3rd July 2015 - Sunday, 5th July 2015

Summer Diesel Gala
more info

Saturday, 11th July 2015 - Saturday, 11th July 2015

Saturday, 12th September 2015 - Saturday, 12th September 2015

Rail Ale Trail: Full Line Beer Special
more info

Friday, 17th July 2015 - Saturday, 18th July 2015

Raise the Roof 3
more info

Saturday, 1st August 2015 - Sunday, 2nd August 2015

Day Out With Thomas TM
more info

Saturday, 8th August 2015 - Saturday, 8th August 2015

Rail Ale Trail: A Journey East to Heywood & Rochdale
more info

Saturday, 29th August 2015 - Monday, 31st August 2015

Family Fun Weekend with appearances from Peppa Pig and George
more info

Saturday, 12th September 2015 - Sunday, 13th September 2015

Vintage Transport Gathering
more info

Saturday, 26th September 2015 - Sunday, 27th September 2015

Autumn Diesel Gala
more info

Saturday, 3rd October 2015 - Sunday, 4th October 2015

Day Out With Thomas TM
more info

Saturday, 17th October 2015 - Sunday, 18th October 2015

Autumn Steam Gala
more info

Thursday, 29th October 2015 - Saturday, 31st October 2015

Halloween Ghost Trains
more info

Saturday, 21st November 2015 - Sunday, 22nd November 2015

Diesel Theme Day
more info

Saturday, 21st November 2015 - Sunday, 22nd November 2015

Lancashire Weekend
more info

Saturday, 28th November 2015 - Thursday, 24th December 2015

Santa Specials
more info

Gradings

  • VAQAS VB Attraction
VAQAS VB Attraction

Awards

  • Sub-Regional AwardsTourism Event of the Year Tourism Event of the Year 2010
  • Sub-Regional AwardsLarge Visitor Attraction of the Year Large Visitor Attraction of the Year 2014
  • National Awards***Member of Marketing Lancashire ***Member of Marketing Lancashire 2014
  • Sub-Regional AwardsLancashire Tourism Awards 2014 Finalist Lancashire Tourism Awards 2014 Finalist 2014

Opening Times

Open All Year
East Lancashire Railway (01/01/2015 - 31/12/2015)
DayTimes
Monday09:0017:00
Tuesday09:0017:00
Wednesday09:0017:00
Thursday09:0017:00
Friday09:0017:00
Saturday09:0017:00
Sunday09:0017:00

* Please check website for opening times and dates.

Prices

Ticket TypeTicket Tariff
2 adults and 2 children or 1 adult and 3 children£36.00 per ticket
Full Line Adult Return£14.00 per ticket
Full Line Child Return£9.00 per ticket
Full Line Concession Return£12.80 per ticket

Single and standard returns also available, more information on fares is available on http://www.eastlancsrailway.org.uk/visit-us/fares/

What's Nearby

  1. Turton Tower

    Add Turton Tower to your Itinerary

    Turton Tower is a distinctive English country house located in the small village of...

    5.24 miles away
  2. Healey Dell Nature Reserve

    Add Healey Dell Nature Reserve to your Itinerary

    At Healey Dell the River Spodden has carved its way through the woodlands through...

    5.89 miles away
  3. Helmshore Mills Textile Museum

    Add Helmshore Mills Textile Museum to your Itinerary

    In the quiet village of Helmshore in the stunning Rossendale Valley are two original...

    6.8 miles away
  1. Horse and Bamboo Theatre

    Add Horse and Bamboo Theatre to your Itinerary

    A wonderfully quirky, creative and buzzing family-friendly venue in Waterfoot, Rossendale...

    7.06 miles away
  2. The Whitaker

    Add The Whitaker to your Itinerary

    The Whitaker (previously Rossendale Museum & Art Gallery) is set in a beautiful park in...

    7.24 miles away
  3. The Fudge Village

    Add The Fudge Village to your Itinerary

    Watch us make fudge live from our factory in the heart of the Rossendale Valley in...

    7.28 miles away
  4. Whitaker Park

    Add Whitaker Park to your Itinerary

    Large muicipal park in Rawtenstall with a variety of facilities.

    7.31 miles away
  5. Flightdeck Experience

    Add Flightdeck Experience  to your Itinerary

    Ever wondered what it's like to fly a passenger airliner. Well now Flightdeck Experience...

    7.53 miles away
  6. Ski Rossendale

    Add Ski Rossendale to your Itinerary

    The Northwest's biggest and best outdoor ski slope. Ski Rossendale has 3 slopes that vary...

    7.6 miles away
  7. Rawtenstall Market

    Add Rawtenstall Market to your Itinerary

    Rawtenstall Market is stress free, smoke free family shopping. Open to serve you and your...

    7.69 miles away
  8. Haslingden Market

    Add Haslingden Market to your Itinerary

    Visit Haslingden Market for a friendly, unique shopping experience you will want to come...

    7.79 miles away
  9. Halo - Panopticon

    Add Halo - Panopticon to your Itinerary

    Rossendale's Panopticon, 'Halo', is an 18m-diameter steel lattice structure supported on...

    7.96 miles away
  10. Clough Head Visitor Centre

    Add Clough Head Visitor Centre to your Itinerary

    Take a visit to Clough Head Visitor Centre to find out more about the local landscape,...

    8.34 miles away
  11. Royal Court Theatre Bacup

    Add Royal Court Theatre Bacup to your Itinerary

    BAODS owns and runs the Royal Court Theatre on Rochdale Road Bacup. The society to put on...

    8.48 miles away
  12. Bacup Market

    Add Bacup Market to your Itinerary

    Visit Bacup Market for a unique shopping experience. You will find everything you need...

    8.54 miles away
  13. Darwen Library Theatre

    Add Darwen Library Theatre to your Itinerary

    Darwen Library Theatre has a programme of theatre, music, comedy and community arts...

    9.89 miles away
Previous Next

Show What's Nearby

  1. Best Western Bolholt Country Park Hotel

    3 Visit England Stars 3 Visit England Stars 3 Visit England Stars 3 Visit England Stars

    Type

    Country House Hotel

    1.2 miles away
  2. The Red Hall Hotel

    3 AA Stars 3 AA Stars 3 AA Stars 3 AA Stars

    Type

    Hotel

    2.92 miles away
  3. The Old Mill Hotel & Leisure Club

    3 Visit England Stars 3 Visit England Stars 3 Visit England Stars 3 Visit England Stars

    Type

    Hotel

    4.02 miles away
  4. Clough Head Farm - Self Catering

    4 Visit England Stars 4 Visit England Stars 4 Visit England Stars 4 Visit England Stars 4 Visit England Stars Self Catering

    Type

    Self-Catering

    7.28 miles away
  5. Britannia B&B

    Type

    Bed & Breakfast

    8.32 miles away